Organ Works

Incheon (South-Korea), Methodist Central Church

new organ | III/29 +4 Ext. | OPUS 1015 | 2022

The port city of Incheon is the third largest metropolis in Korea and lies adjacent to the state capital of Seoul. A new central church is being built close to the coast for the local Methodist congregation. Integrated into the building is a large worship space with characteristic roof construction, whose vault-like shapes converge on the central axis.

The new organ will occupy an optically and visually prominent place in front of the central risalto of the otherwise glass altar wall. For the congregation it was important that the 10-metre tall 16ft case front should not only fit in formally, but also make a conscious visual statement. To this end a feature of the design incorporates a staggered layout of front pipes with boldly curved foot lines. The upwards sense of movement of overlapping pipes lends emphasis to the cross crowning the whole ensemble.

The specification is based on a universally traditional tonal build-up, romantically broadened in its overall effect. This is based on a voicing style characterised by fullness, power, blending capacity and intense colour. The stops are distributed over three manuals and pedal which incorporates three ranks with octave extension. The planned concept is completed by two toy stops, a nightingale and a Zimbelstern in the case front.

The windchests have electric action throughout and are connected to a mobile console placed to one side in the choir stalls and incorporating characteristic elements of the organ case in its design.


I. Hauptwerk C-g3

  1. Prinzipal 8'
  2. Rohrflöte 8'
  3. Salicional 8'
  4. Oktave 4'
  5. Quinte 2 2/3'
  6. Superoktave 2'
  7. Mixtur major 3 fach
  8. Mixtur minor 2-3 fach
  9. Fagott 16'
  10. Trompete 8'

II. Positiv (schwellbar) C-g3

  1. Bourdon 16'
  2. Flûte harmonique 8'
  3. Nachthorn 8'
  4. Hohlflöte 4'
  5. Nazard 2 2/3'
  6. Flöte 2'
  7. Terz 1 3/5'

III. Schwellwerk C-g3

  1. Geigenprinzipal 8'
  2. Flauto amabile 8'
  3. Viola da Gamba 8'
  4. Vox coelestis 8'
  5. Fugara 4'
  6. Piccolo 2'
  7. Plein jeu 3-4 fach
  8. Trompette harmonique 8'
  9. Hautbois 8'

Pedal C-f1

  1. Prinzipalbass 16'
  2. Subbass 16'
    Akustikbass 32' (C-H 10 2/3' + Subbass 16', ab c° Ext. aus Subbass)
    Oktavbass 8' Ext.
    Flötbass 8' Ext.
  3. Posaune 16'
    Basstrompete 8' Ext.


Koppeln: II-I, III-I, Sub III-I, III-II, Sub III, I-P, II-P, III-P, Super III-P

1904 Pfeifen

elektrische Trakturen mit Setzeranlage

Download Project Info: